For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Banks will remain closed in THESE states on occasion of Guru Nanak Jayanti

However, the bank holidays vary from state to state owing to festivals.
05:42 PM Nov 07, 2022 IST | APN Live
banks will remain closed in these states on occasion of guru nanak jayanti

Bank holidays must be kept in mind when you are visiting a bank to avoid any inconvenience. Tomorrow, November 8, is Guru Nanak Jayanti. Although Gurupurab is mostly celebrated in Punjab, there are still a few other states where banks will not remain operational.


According to the RBI’s official notification, banks will remain closed on November 8 in several states on the occasion of Guru Nanak Jayanti, Kartika Purnima, and Rahas Purnima.

However, the bank holidays vary from state to state owing to festivals. It must be noted that banks will not be closed for all festivals in all states and regions. For example, bank branches might be closed for Onam in Kerala but not closed for the same in other states.


States where banks will be closed on Guru Nanak Jayanti

Aizawl, Belapur, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Dehradun, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Raipur, Ranchi, Shimla and Srinagar.

States where banks will not be closed on Guru Nanak Jayanti

Agartala, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Gangtok, Guwahati, Imphal, Kochi, Panaji, Patna, Shilong and Thiruvananthapuram.


Guru Nanak Jayanti celebrates the birth of the first Sikh guru and the founder of Sikhism, Guru Nanak Dev. He was born on this day in the year 1469, on Karthik Purnima (the first full moon in November or December).

Bank holidays in November

The banks will be closed for a total of 10 days in November. Apart from Sunday, second and fourth Saturdays, the RBI has declared holidays on November 1,8,11, and 23.

Banks are closed on November 11, 2022, i.e Friday, on the occasion of the Kanakadasa Jayanthi/Wangala Festival only in Karnataka and Meghalaya. Banks in Shillong will remain closed on the occasion of Seng Kutsnem on November 23, 2022.

The Reserve Bank of India categorizes its holidays into three categories: Negotiable Instruments Act Holidays, Negotiable Instruments Act Holidays, and Real-Time Gross Settlement Holidays; and Banks’ Closing of Accounts.

Tags :