For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

BJP releases list of candidates for Arunachal Pradesh, West Bengal bypolls

The BJP has announced the party’s list of candidates for the upcoming bye-polls in Andhra Pradesh and West Bengal.
09:52 AM Feb 02, 2023 IST | APN Live
bjp releases list of candidates for arunachal pradesh  west bengal bypolls

The BJP has announced the party’s list of candidates for the upcoming bye-polls in Andhra Pradesh and West Bengal.


On Wednesday, the BJP’s Central Election Committee (CEC) revealed the list of candidates for upcoming elections in the two states. According to the list, Tsering Lhamu will contest from Arunachal Pradesh’s Lumla (ST) seat and Dilip Saha from West Bengal’s Sagardighi seat.

The Election Commission in January announced the schedule for the bye-elections to six assembly seats across five states; one each in Arunachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, West Bengal, Tamil Nadu and two assembly constituencies in Maharashtra.


Besides, the parliamentary constituency of Lakshadweep will also vote in bypolls on February 27.

Lumla constituency seat was vacant after the death of BJP leader Jambey Tashi and Ramgarh seat in Jharkhand was vacated by Congress leader Mamta Devi after being disqualified.


Read Also: Uttar Pradesh: Woman beat man with slippers on busy road in Jhansi, video goes viral | Watch

Similarly, Lakshadweep’s parliamentary constituency will go to the polls due to the disqualification of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Mohammed Faizal PP.

The demise of Congress leader Thiru E Thirumahan Everaa and Trinamool Congress (TMC)leader Subrata Saha led to seats of Erode in Tamil Nadu (east) and Sagardighi in West Bengal being vacated respectively.

Similarly, deaths of BJP leaders Mukta Shailesh Tilak and Laxman Pandurang Jagtap necessitated elections in Maharashtra’s Kasba Peth and Chinchwad respectively.

The votes will be counted on March 2. The last date for filing for nominations is February 7, the nominations will be scrutinized on February 8 while February 10 has been set as last date for withdrawal of candidatures.

The EC also announced the schedule for Assembly elections in northeastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland to be held in February-March this year. The results of all three states will be declared on March 2, 2023.

Kerala journalist Siddique Kappan released from UP jail after 2 years

Virat Kohli hails Shubman Gill for breaking his T20I record, calls him the future of Indian cricket

Tags :