For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

FIFA Awards 2022: World Cup winner Lionel Messi and Alexia Putellas win Best Player titles

Lionel Messi won the FIFA Best Men's Player award for the second time.
06:03 PM Feb 28, 2023 IST | APN Live
fifa awards 2022  world cup winner lionel messi and alexia putellas win best player titles

Lionel Messi has added another achievement to his account. Messi was voted FIFA’s best male player for the year 2022. Messi made Argentina the World Cup champion, ending a 36-year drought. He scored seven goals in this tournament.


On the other hand, Alexia Putellas won the female best player award at the FIFA football awards 2022.

Lionel Messi’s compatriot and coach Lionel Scaloni was named the best male coach. Scaloni guided the South Americans to the World Cup title. Messi, 35, left behind French forward Kylin Mbappe and Karim Benzema for this award. Apart from making Argentina the World Cup champion, Messi scored 27 goals in a total of 49 matches for the country and club in 2021-22.


Read Also: Supreme Court refuses relief to Delhi Deputy CM Manish Sisodia in liquor policy case

What did Messi say on receiving the award?


Lionel Messi won the FIFA Best Men’s Player award for the second time. He said, ‘This is wonderful. It has been an amazing year and it is an honour for me to be here to receive the award. I wouldn’t be here without my teammates. I have achieved my long held dream. Only a few people achieve this and I feel fortunate to have done so.’

Lionel Scaloni, the coach who won Argentina the World Cup title, beat Pep Guardiola and Carlo Ancelotti at the ceremony in Paris. Guardiola led Manchester City to their sixth Premier League title. At the same time, Ancelotti had given Real Madrid the Champions League title.

England manager Sarina Wigman was voted the best women’s coach of the year. He guided England to the European Championship title last year. It was the team’s first major trophy. Aston Villa and Argentina’s Emiliano Martinez won the best goalkeeper award while England’s Mary Earps won the women’s award. Barcelona’s Alexia Putelas was voted the best female player of the year.

Karnataka: Bommai government submits to employees’ strike threats, prepares to implement 7th Pay Commission

Bombay High Court says holding minor girl’s hand without sexual intent is not sexual harassment, grants bail to man

Tags :