For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Goa Assembly Elections 2022: BJP again in Goa, AAP notches 2 seats in new territory

In the 2017 Goa Assembly Elections, Congress secured 17 out of 40 assembly constituencies and the BJP won 13 seats.
06:51 PM Mar 10, 2022 IST | APN Live
goa assembly elections 2022  bjp again in goa  aap notches 2 seats in new territory

Goa went to the polls on February 14. Results for the 40-member Goa legislative assembly were announced today. As per the Election Commission of India, AAP had two historic wins. While BJP won 20 seats, Congress on 11 seats, GFP 1 seat, Maharashtrawadi Gomantak won 2 seats, Revolutionary Goans Party 1, and Independent 3 seats.


Exit Polls came out on March 7 with the final phase voting on Uttar Pradesh. Zee News projected that BJP will win 15 seats and Congress is likely to come into power in the coastal state with more than 16 seats. Others will win 7 seats. In the 2017 Goa Assembly Elections, Congress secured 17 out of 40 assembly constituencies and the BJP won 13 seats. VVPAT-fitted EVMs were used in the entire coastal state, which was the first time in India. 

Goa Assembly Elections 2017 were held in February 2017 and Manohar Parrikar became the Chief Minister of the state with a coalition of BJP, Goa Forward Party, and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party. Following the death of Manohar Parrikar, Pramod Swant was appointed as the Chief Minister. 


For Goa Assembly Elections 2022, Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP has put forward Amit Palekar as the chief ministerial face. The ruling party, BJP has announced Pramod Sawant as the chief ministerial face and Congress is yet to announce its CM’s face.

Here’s the full list of constituencies

  1. Aldona- Carlos Alvares Ferreira (Cong) (WINNER with 1823 margin)
  2. Benaulim-Venzy Niegas (AAP) (WINNER with 1271 margin)
  3. Bicholim- Dr Chandrakant Shetye (Independent) (WINNER with 318 margin)
  4. Calangute- Michael Vincet Lobo (Cong) (WINNER with 4979 margin)
  5. Canacona- Ramesh Tawadkar (BJP) (WINNER with 3051 margin)
  6. Cortalim- Antonio Vas (Independent) (WINNER with 1178 margin)
  7. Cumbarjua- Rajesh Faldessai (Cong) (WINNER with 2827 margin)
  8. Cuncolim- Alemao Yuri (Cong) (WINNER with 3234 margin)
  9. Curchorem- Nilesh Cabral (BJP) (WINNER with 672 margin)
  10. Curtotim- Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco (Independent) (WINNER with 5055 margin)
  11. Dabolim- Mauvin Heliodoro (BJP) (WINNER with 1570 margin)
  12. Fatorda-Vijai Sardesai (Gfp) Alliance (Cong) (WINNER with 1527 margin)
  13. Maem- Premendra Vishnu Shet (BJP) (WINNER with 3136 margin)
  14. Mandrem- Jit Vinayak Arolkar (Maharashtrawadi Gomantak) (WINNER with 715 margin)
  15. Mapusa- Joshua Peter De Souza (BJP) (WINNER with 1647 margin)
  16. Marcaim- Ramkrishna Alias Sudin Dhavalikar (Maharashtrawadi Gomantak) (WINNER with 9963 margin)
  17. Margao- Digambar Kamat (Cong) (WINNER with 7794 margin)
  18. Mormugao- Sankalp Amonkar (Cong) (WINNER with 1941 margin)
  19. Navelim- Ulhas Tuenkar (BJP) (WINNER with 430 margin)
  20. Nuvem- Aleixo Sequera (Cong) (WINNER with 4397 margin)
  21. Panaji- Atanasio Monserrate (BJP) (WINNER with 716 margin)
  22. Pernem- Pravin Prabhakar Arlekar (BJP) (WINNER with 3418 margin)
  23. Ponda- Ravi Naik (BJP) (WINNER with 77 margin)
  24. Poriem- Deviya Vishwajit Rane (BJP) (WINNER with 13943 margin)
  25. Porvorim- Rohan Khaunte (BJP) (WINNER with 7950 margin)
  26. Priol- Chandrakant Kavlekar (BJP) (WINNER with 213 margin)
  27. Quepem- Altone D’Costa (Cong) (WINNER with 3601 margin)
  28. Saligao- Kedar Jayprakash Naik (Cong) (WINNER with 1899 margin)
  29. Sanguem- Subhash Uttam Phal Dessai (BJP) (WINNER with 1429 margin)
  30. Sanquelim- Dr Pramod Sawant (BJP) (WINNER with 666 margin)
  31. Sanvordem- Ganesh Gaonkar (BJP) (WINNER with 5190 margin)
  32. Siolim- Delilah Michael Lobo (Cong) (WINNER with 1727 margin)
  33. Siroda- Subhash Shirodkar (BJP) (WINNER with 2174 margin)
  34. St. Andre- Virsh Mukesh Borkar (Revolutionary Goans Party) (WINNER with 76 margin)
  35. St. Cruz- Rodolf Louis Fernandes (Cong) (WINNER with 2464)
  36. Taleigo- Jennifer Monserrate (BJP) (WINNER with 2041 margin)
  37. Tivim- Nilkanth Ramnath Halarnkar (BJP) (WINNER with 2051 margin)
  38. Valpoi- Vishwajit Pratapsingh Rane (BJP) (WINNER with 8085 margin)
  39. Vasco da Gama- Krishna V Salkar (BJP) (WINNER with 3657 margin)
  40. Velim- Cruz Silva (AAP) (WINNER with 169 margin)
Tags :