For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Imran Khan loses no-confidence vote, new Pakistan prime minister to be declared today at 2 pm

As per reports, Shehbaz Sharif is likely to be the next prime minister of Pakistan.
01:47 AM Apr 10, 2022 IST | APN Live
imran khan loses no confidence vote  new pakistan prime minister to be declared today at 2 pm

Pakistan’s new prime minister will be declared today at 2 pm PST. Reportedly, the session of the National Assembly will be called to nominate the new prime minister and the session will not be prorogued. Imran Khan’s government, Tehreek-e-Insaf, failed the no-confidence motion filed against him by the Opposition.


The acting speaker said that 174 members recorded their votes and all were in favour of the resolution. Imran Khan has become the first Pakistan PM to lose the trust vote. 

Following the no-confidence motion, Pakistan Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting, Fawad Hussain in a tweet said that it is a sad day for Pakistan. He further wrote return of looters a good man sent home.


Have a look at the tweet:

Ahead of the no-confidence motion voting, the National Assembly Speaker, Asad Qaiser, and Deputy Speaker Qasim Suri resigned from the parliament. Pakistan Attorney General, Khalid Javed Khan also resigned from the post. Principal Secretary to Pakistan Prime Minister, Azam Khan has been removed from office and has been transferred to Establishment Division.

As per reports, the Leader of Opposition, Shehbaz Sharif is likely to be the next prime minister of Pakistan. Shehbaz Sharif is the younger brother of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif. Born on September 23, 1951, he began his political career in 1988 after he got elected to the Provincial Assembly of Punjab in the general election. In 2018, he was nominated for the office of Leader of the Opposition in the National Assembly after he lost elections to Imran Khan.

Tags :