For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

IND vs AUS: Mohammed Shami to return for Ahmedabad Test, Smith or Pat Cummins, or will lead Australian team?

Shami, who played the first two Tests and is also part of the ODI squad, was rested for the third game.
03:56 PM Mar 05, 2023 IST | APN Live
ind vs aus  mohammed shami to return for ahmedabad test  smith or pat cummins  or will lead australian team

The fourth and final Test of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy between India and Australia will be played in Ahmedabad from March 9. Indian pacer Mohammed Shami may return to India’s playing XI for this test, which also means that Siraj can sit out.


In fact, the Indian team management, in consultation with the medical staff, has decided to exclude the fast bowlers, who are going to play IPL regularly. And seems like the ODI World Cup is part of the plan. Which is why Shami, who played the first two Tests and is also part of the ODI squad, was rested for the third game. He was replaced by Umesh Yadav as the second fast bowler after Mohammad Siraj.

Siraj, on the other hand, required only 24 overs in the first three matches and is likely to feature in all the three ODIs between March 17 and 22. He is likely to be ruled out during the final game at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Motera. Shami, who has been the best pacer in both the teams, has picked up seven wickets in over 30 overs. Captain Rohit can try them on the dry surface of Motera. His presence in Team India can be conducive for reverse swing.


Pat Cummins or Steve Smith?

Significantly, the regular captain of the Australia team, Pat Cummins, is currently present in Australia due to his mother being ill. In such a situation, Steve Smith can take charge of the team in his place in the fourth Test too. Explain that Australia team coach Andrew McDonald told reporters on Saturday, “Cummins is in touch with the entire team. We are with them in this difficult time. We are in constant touch with them. That’s why he is not here. Test match is still far away. That’s why we will discuss with him on a daily basis.’


At present, the Indian team is leading 2-1 in the four-match Border Gavaskar Test series. Because the host India had won the first two matches of the series played against Australia by performing well. Whereas in the third match, Australia won the series by 9 wickets and opened the account of victory in the series. In such a situation, now the Indian fans will expect the team to perform well in the fourth Test and capture the series.

Indian Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin, Akshar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav , Suryakumar Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

Tags :