For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

IND vs ENG: Tweeple request BCCI to appoint Virat Kohli as captain after Rohit Sharma tests positive for Covid-19

After a brief break from cricket, Virat Kohli has returned to the Indian team in the crucial time of England tour. India will first play the postponed fifth Test match, which will be followed by three match ODI series and T20I.
01:58 PM Jun 26, 2022 IST | APN Live
ind vs eng  tweeple request bcci to appoint virat kohli as captain after rohit sharma tests positive for covid 19

Just before the IND vs ENG Test match, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma has test positive for Covid-19. And now the debate over Test captaincy has once again begun. But this time tweeple are rooting for Kohli. The former Indian skipper had left Test captaincy the last after IND vs SA Test series. And later Rohit Sharma was appointed as the new Test captain of India.


But now due to Covid, Sharma won’t be taking part in fifth and the final Test match against England. Where names like Jasprit Bumrah and Rishabh Pant are an easy pick for BCCI, tweeple want Kohli to have his perfect good-bye to Test captaincy after this win.

For the unversed, Virat Kohli had led team India against the England tour and men in blue hold a lead of 2-1 in the Test series. Hence in the Indian fans want Kohli to say good-bye to Test captaincy with a big win, moreover, the audience will be satisfied seeing Kohli finish what he started.


However, if Jasprit Bumrah is announced as the temporary captain of Indian Test team, then the cricketer will be able to level with Haryana Hurricane and India’s first World Cup winning captain Kapil Dev. As never before and after Kapil Dev, any fast bowler has been asked to led team India in a Test match, hence it will be interesting to see if Jasprit Bumrah can add this feather to his cap.

Indian Squad for the IND vs ENG Test: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, Umesh Yadav and Prasidh Krishna.

IND vs ENG Test Series Schedule

5th Test: Edgbaston from July 1-5

IND vs ENG T20 Series Schedule

1st T201: Ages Bowl on 7 July

2nd T20I: Edgbaston on 9 July

3rd T20I: Trent Bridge on July 10

IND vs ENG ODI Series Schedule

1st ODI: The Oval on July 12

2nd ODI: Lord’s on 14 July

3rd ODI: Manchester on 17 July

Tags :