For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

IND vs AUS: Team India begins prep for Border Gavaskar Trophy ahead of 1st Test in Nagpur | See Photos

It is very important for India to win the Border-Gavaskar series in terms of World Test Championship (WTC).
04:45 PM Feb 03, 2023 IST | APN Live
ind vs aus  team india begins prep for border gavaskar trophy ahead of 1st test in nagpur   see photos

The four-match Test series between India and Australia will begin from February 9. The Australian team under the leadership of Pat Cummins has started practice in Bangalore, while the Indian team under the leadership of Rohit Sharma is currently practicing fiercely in Nagpur.


For the unversed, the first match of the Border-Gavaskar series will be played at the Vadarbha Cricket Association in Nagpur from February 9 to 13. At the same time, for the first time in the last five years, a Test match is being played at Jamatha’s Vidarbha Stadium. Other players including Virat Kohli, Ravindra Jadeja, Rohit Sharma were also seen practicing hard in the nets.

See the photos here:


It is very important for India to win the Border-Gavaskar series in terms of World Test Championship (WTC). If the Indian team has to reach the final of the WTC, then they will have to win the series at any cost. At present, India is at number two in the points table of WTC while the Australian team is at the top. The Kangaroo team is almost certain to reach the finals.
There is a competition between two-three teams including India. The second placed teams will play the finals in June.

IND vs AUS Test: Neck-to-Neck

Last year Australia played 12 Tests out of which they won 7. At the same time, Aussies defeated Sri Lanka and Pakistan in their home ground, and has also defeated England and South Africa. However, they has not been successful on Indian soil for a long time. Since 2017, Australian team has not won any Test on the tour of India.

Significantly, the last five Test series played between India and Australia have been won by Team India. Australia won the Test series against India in 2014-15. Since then, the visiting team has been constantly craving for victory, three times out of the last five Border-Gavaskar Trophy, the Indian players have remained intact. He has also been awarded the Player of the Series in this series.

Team India’s squad for the first two Tests against Australia

Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (Vice Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wicket keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket keeper), R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj , Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat and Suryakumar Yadav.

Tags :