For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Karnataka election result: CM Basavaraj Bommai confident of crossing magic number, says Congress has no confidence in own MLAs

09:53 AM May 13, 2023 IST | APN Live
karnataka election result  cm basavaraj bommai confident of crossing magic number  says congress has no confidence in own mlas

Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai expressed confidence of the BJP retaining power even as multiple by-polls gave the edge to the Congress in the Karnataka elections, results of which will be declared today.


Speaking to news agency ANI, CM Bommai said he was confident that the BJP will cross the ‘magic number’ and retain power in the 224-seat Legislative Assembly without the need of a coalition partner.

Citing ‘ground report’ from poll booths and constituencies the incumbent BJP Chief Minister exuded confidence and said that the saffron party will score a clear majority in the Karnataka election.


CM Bommai also claimed that the Opposition Congress does not have any confidence in their own MLAs and hence the reason they were touch with other parties in a bid to stitch up an alliance, adding that the grand old party will not get a majority.

The Chief Minister also ruled out any alliance as he expressed confidence in the BJP retaining power in the state on its own without the need of any coalition partners.


Counting of votes began amid tight security today for the Karnataka Assembly polls which were held on May 10 with a robust voter turnout of 73.19 percent.

Several exit polls have give the Congress the edge over arch rivals BJP with HD Kumaraswamy’s JDS tipped to become kingmaker in the scenario of a hung assembly.

As per reports, the Congress had a meaty lead over the its opponents with BJP running close and the JDS and a distant third, when this report was filed.

Basavaraj Bommai is looking to score his fourth consecutive win from Shiggaon constituency in Haveri district against JDS leader Sashidhar Yaligar and Congress’s Yasir Ahmed Khan Pathan.

The sitting chief minister has won three consecutive times from Shiggaon, scoring victories in 2008, 2013 and 2018 Assembly polls.

Tags :