For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura Assembly Election results: Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma wins from South Tura by a huge margin

Tripura went through polling on February 16 whereas polling in Nagaland and Meghalaya was held on February 27.
05:05 PM Mar 02, 2023 IST | APN Live
nagaland  meghalaya  tripura assembly election results  meghalaya cm conrad sangma wins from south tura by a huge margin

The counting of votes for the Tripura, Meghalaya, and Nagaland assembly elections has begun. As per the exit poll, the Bharatiya Janata Party and its allies are likely to retain power in Tripura and Nagaland, while there can be a close competition between the Trinamool Congress and the BJP and National People’s Party (NPP) in Meghalaya.


Tripura is fielding candidates for the 60-member assembly, while Nagaland and Meghalaya are contesting for 59 seats. There are 60 seats in Nagaland, however, only 59 were up for election because the Bharatiya Janata Party won Akuluto without any opposition. In Meghalaya too, the total number came down from 60 to 59 as the election for one seat was adjourned due to the death of the candidate.

Tripura went through polling on February 16 whereas polling in Nagaland and Meghalaya was held on February 27.


Stay tuned for more updates

Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma wins from South Tura by a huge margin

Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma won the seat from South Tura and defeated BJP’s Bernard Marak with 10,090 votes.


NPP’s Mazel Ampareen Lyngdoh wins from East Shillong in Meghalaya

Dr Mazel Amprareen Lyngdoh from the National People’s Party won the East Shillong seat by a margin of 1711 votes. Mazel defeated Congress’s Manuel Badwar.

Narrow win for TMC in Meghalaya’s Dadenggre

All India Trinamool Congress’s Rupa M. Marak has won the Dadenggre seat in Meghalaya. He defeated the National People’s Party candidate James Pangsang Kongkal Sangma by just a margin of 18 votes.

Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio wins Northern Angami-II with thumping majority

Chief Minister of Nagaland and Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party founder Neiphiu Rio won the Northern Angami-II seat. He defeated his nearest rival Seyievilie Sachu of Congress by a margin of 15824 votes. Rio is the only and the longest Nagaland Chief Minister to have served three consecutive terms.

Read Also: Angry hippo scares lion for drinking water from their occupied lake, here’s what happened next | WATCH

BJP’s Tinku Roy wins Chandipur seat in Tripura

BJP’s Tinku Roy won the Chandipur seat by a margin of 577 votes. He defeated Krishnendu Choudhary from the Communist Party of India (Marxist).

BJP wins 16 seats, leading in 17 in Tripura

Manik Saha’s led BJP has won 16 seats and is currently leading in 17 seats. Deb Barma-founded Tipra Motha Party has so far won 7 seats and leading on 5 seats. Other parties such as the Communist Party of India, Congress and IPFT won 1 seat each.

Tripura CM Manik Saha wins from Town Bardowali

Chief Minister of Tripura Manik Saha wins from Town Bardowali by defeating Congress’s candidate Asish Kumar Saha with a margin of 1257 votes. The BJP is leading in 34 seats followed by Congress+Left and Tipra Motha Party.

NPP surges ahead with 5 wins in Meghalaya, leads in 26

The National People’s Party is likely to retain power in Meghalaya. The Conrad Sangma-led party has won 5 seats in Jowai, Nartiang, Raliang, Rangsakona and Rongara Siju. BJP is leading in 3 seats.

Hekani Jakhalu creates history, becomes first woman to be elected to Nagaland Assembly

NDPP’s Hekani Jakhalu scripted history by becoming the first woman to be elected to the 60-member Nagaland Assembly. She defeated Azheto Zhimomi of the Lok Janshakti Party by a margin of 1,536 votes to win the Dimapur-III constituency.

BJP-NDPP likely to retain power in Nagaland

BJP-NDPP is likely to continue to rule in Nagaland. The NDPP-BJP alliance is marching ahead to power in the northeastern state as they have won 4 seats out of 59 seats as of now.

BJP wins in Tripura’s Mohanpur, Tipra Motha in Simra

BJP candidate Ratan Lal Nath won from Mohanpur constituency, defeating his nearest rival Tapas Dey of Tipra Motha Party by a margin of 7347 votes. Tipra Motha candidate Brishaketu Debbarma won from Simna (ST) constituency securing 22164 votes.

BJP wins Nagaland’s Tuensang Sadar-I, comfortable lead in state

BJP’s P. Bashangmongba Chang won Tuensang Sadar-I and defeated the Nationalist Congress Party’s Toyang Chang by a margin of 5644 votes. BJP is headed to a comfortable win in Nagaland. The saffron party is leading with 32 seats, with a neck-and-neck competition between Congress+Left and Tipra Motha with 15 and 12 seats, respectively.

NPP wins Meghalaya’s Nartiang with 2123 votes margin

NPP’s Sniawbhaland Dhar won the assembly elections from Nartiang by defeating Congress’s Emlang Laloo by a 2123 votes margin.

BJP slightly under halfway mark, Tipra Motha gains in Tripura

BJP+ which surged in the beginning is now down to 31 seats. It’s a neck-to-neck contest in Tripura between Congress+Left and Tipra Motha Party as they are leading in 17 and 12 seats each. Tipra Motha gained back and it is expected to be the kingmaker.

NPP leads in Meghalaya with 22 seats, TMC trails

The National People’s Party led by Conrad Sangma is leading in the 60-seat Meghalaya Assembly with 22 seats while BJP and TMC trailing at 8 each.

BJP ahead in 27 seats followed by Congress-Left, Tipra Motha in Tripura

The BJP-IPFT alliance continues to maintain a comfortable lead in Tripura. The BJP is ahead in 27 seats out of 60 seats while the Left-Congress alliance is leading in 16 seats and Tipra Motha is leading in 11 seats.

BJP-NDPP alliance ahead in 48 seats in Nagaland

The BJP-NDPP alliance leads in 48 seats out of 60 seat-member assembly. The former ruling party Nagaland People’s Front is ahead in 5 seats.

NPP inches close to halfway mark in Meghalaya leads

Conrad Sangma-led National People’s Party is leading in Meghalaya with 21 seats. The Trinamool Congress and BJP are giving a tough fight. The majority mark is 31.

Strong start for BJP-IPFT in Tripura, ahead in 40 seats

BJP is likely to retain power in Tripura. As per the latest trends, the BJP-IPFT alliance leads in 40 seats while the Congress-Left alliance and Tipra Motha Party (TMP) lead in 10 each.

BJP-NDPP alliance leads in Nagaland

As per early trends, the BJP-NDPP alliance is ahead on 3 seats.

Landmark Supreme Court verdict orders new mode of appointment of Election Commissioners

Landmark Supreme Court verdict orders new mode of appointment of Election Commissioners

Tags :