For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

IND vs AUS: Border-Gavaskar series will decide Rohit Sharma's future as Test captain, here's what BCCI official said

India has won all the previous three editions of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.
01:54 PM Feb 06, 2023 IST | APN Live
ind vs aus  border gavaskar series will decide rohit sharma s future as test captain  here s what bcci official said

The most difficult phase of Rohit Sharma as captain has finally begun. Till now Sharma was leading the Indian cricket team in limited over formats (T20 and ODIs) and have lost two big ICC trophies, Asia Cup 2022 and T20 World Cup 2022. But now, the Indian skipper will lead Men In Blue in the Test series as well.


The 4-match Test series between India and Australia will test Rohit Sharma’s caliber as a skipper in Test format. Moreover, a BCCI official has revealed that the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against Australia will decide the future of Rohit Sharma as Test captain. Also, according to the official of the Board of Cricket in India (BCCI), the board has sent a clear message to the Indian skipper saying that they cannot afford to lose another ICC trophy.

For the unversed, India last won the ICC trophy in 2013. In the year 2018, India became the Asia Cup winner. As captain, Rohit Sharma has dominated the bilateral series and has led Team India to the number one rank in T20s and ODIs. Moreover Team India is on the verge of becoming number 1 in the world in Tests but it has not won any ICC trophy yet.


Read Also: Turkey earthquake: Strong earthquake shakes Middle East, over 500 killed in Turkey-Syria, thousands injured

A senior BCCI official has said that if the team doesn’t win the World Cup, all these bilateral records will be of no use. ‘We have lost three such tournaments in two years. Rohit also knows this along with the whole team, everyone is determined to end the trophy drought,’ said the official.


India’s race to the WTC final

Rohit’s difficulties as captain have increased as India will fight for the WTC final. Mein In Blue will have to win the Test series against Australia either by 2-0 or 3-1 to qualify for the WTC final. On the other hand, Australia is at number one spot in the points table of WTC final. But as India haven’t lost a series to Australia at home since 2004, Rohit Sharma will have to keep going.

For the unversed, India has won all the previous three editions of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy.
But with three defeats in the last three ICC events, Team India is desperate to end the drought. And the four-match Test series will also determine India’s fate in the two consecutive WTC finals.

Delhi Mayor election postponed for third time, AAP to approach Supreme Court

Fake doctor selling illegal abortion drugs manages to resist arrest, slip away from officials in Faridabad | WATCH

Tags :