For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Sania Mirza, 36, India’s greatest women’s tennis player, will call time on her career this year

36-year-old Sania Mirza has been world number-1 in doubles
09:41 AM Jan 07, 2023 IST | APN Live
sania mirza  36  india’s greatest women’s tennis player  will call time on her career this year

Amidst the news of divorce from Pakistani cricketer Shoaib Malik, Indian tennis star Sania Mirza has made a big announcement, which has also disappointed her fans. Actually, Sania Mirza has announced her retirement from her professional tennis career. Mirza has taken this decision regarding her injury. Sania Mirza has said that she will play in Dubai Tennis Championship next month.


Mirza, in an interview with the WTA Tour’s website, said that she was going to stop right after the WTA Finals because she tore a tendon in her elbow right ahead of the US Open, so she had to pull out of everything.

This championship will be the last tournament of Sania Mirza’s career. This Dubai Tennis Championship will start on February 19. This will be a WTA 1000 event. According to news agency IANS, Sania Mirza’s her fans will be watching her playing for the last time in this tournament.


Sania Mirza will play Australian Open

36-year-old Sania Mirza has also been world number-1 in doubles. Notably, Sania Mirza had announced last year itself that she will retire at the end of 2022. But she could not play US Open due to injury. In such a situation, Sania Mirza will play the first Grand Slam Australian Open of this year. After this, she will say goodbye to tennis after playing the championship in UAE.

Sania Mirza has won these awards and titles

She has won the Australian Open (2016), Wimbledon (2015) and US Open (2015) titles in doubles. Apart from this, he has also won three Grand Slam Australian Open (2009), French Open (2012) and US Open (2014) titles in Mixed Doubles.


Due to her important contribution in tennis for India, Sania Mirza was also felicitated with the following awards by the government

➤ 2004: Arjuna Award

➤ 2006: Padma Shri Award

➤ 2015 Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

➤ 2016: Padma Bhushan Award

Tags :