For the best experience, open
on your mobile browser.

Shardiya Navratri 2022 Day 1: Know about Maa Shailputri, puja significance, and mantras

It is believed that the Moon is governed by Maa Shailputri.
12:44 PM Sep 26, 2022 IST | APN Live
shardiya navratri 2022 day 1  know about maa shailputri  puja significance  and mantras

Shardiya Navratri 2022 kick-started on September 26. The 9-day festival is dedicated to Goddess Durga and her nine forms. The first day of Navratri begins with Kalashasthapna or Ghatasthapana and devotees worship Maa Shailputri on this day.


As per Hindu mythology, Maa Shailputri is a form of Goddess Parvati and a reincarnation of Sati. Her name is formed with two words Shail which means mountain and Putri which means daughter. Collectively, Shailputri means daughter of the mountains.

Shardiya Navratri 2022 Day 1 shubh muhurat

  • According to Drik Panchang, the Ghatasthapana Muhurta falls on Pratipada Tithi. The Ghatasthapana Muhurat will begin at 06:11 am and end at 07:51 am.
  • The Ghatasthapana Abhijit Muhurat is at 11:48 am and will end at 12:36 pm. Additionally, the Pratipada Tithi begins at 03:23 am on September 26 and ends at 03:08 am on September 27.

Maa Shailputri significance

Lord Shiva’s wife Goddess Parvati took birth as Lord Himalaya’s daughter after Sati’s self-immolation. She was then called Maa Shailputri, Hemavati, or Parvati.


Maa Shailputri has two hands. While in the right hand she carries Trishul and in the left hand she carries a lotus flower. She represents the white colour and is synonymous with innocence, peace, purity, and calmness. Devotees worship her for good fortune and prosperity.

Maa Shailputri puja vidhi

Devotees establish a Kalash at their homes which are followed by Panchopachara Puja. Maa Shailputri is worshipped with flowers, incense sticks, oil lamps, fruits, and sweets such as bhog.


It is believed that the Moon is governed by Maa Shailputri and any bad effect of the Moon can be prevented by worshipping Hemavati, the daughter of mountains.

Maa Shailputri mantras

  • Om devi Shailputryai namah
  • Vande vanchhit laabhaay, chandrardhkritshekharaal
    Vrisharudham shooldharam shailputril yashaswinil

Nine forms of Goddess Durga

  • Day 1: Maa Shailputri
  • Day 2: Maa Brahmcharini
  • Day 3: Maa Chandraghanta
  • Day 4: Maa Kushmanda
  • Day 5: Maa Skandmata
  • Day 6: Maa Katyayani
  • Day 7: Maa Kaalratri
  • Day 8: Maa Mahagauri
  • Day 9: Maa Siddhidatri
Tags :